Help!

When I was young and so much younger than today

I never needed anybody’s help in what I’d say

But now these days I’m not so self-assured

Now I find that words have changed

Pronunciation obscured.

When I was young there was a saying that four years ago I couldn’t pronounce “Sek-a-tree” and now I are one. That was back when the correct pronunciation of Secretary rhymed with tree and not dairy. SECK-RE-TREE.

In those days Secretary rhymed with Military and cemetery and none of the above rhymed with fairy.

This blog is called Australia4australians. Seven syllables.

It seems that there is an age of ~35 and below who mispronounce the name of our country. They seem  to be saying to Lee-anne that they have gone astray.  Think of “I am, you are, we’re all Astray, Lee-anne.”

Then think of our National anthem.

“Australians, all let us rejoice….” and “advance Australia fair.” In both these cases, and if you don’t believe me, go to  the music. Matching notes with words and you find that Australia is three syllables Os-trail-ya. Even when updated by Adam Hills to the tune of Working Class mann, it is still three syllables.

And yet I am girt by  young people mispronouncing the name of our proud country.

About australia4australians

Sceptic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

